SAYWHO Gallery

Saywho Gallery is the first online gallery dedicated to mundane & relational photography. With a focus on this phenomenon since its inception up to the contemporary era analyzing its journalistic and artistic standards, Saywho Gallery proposes a limited edition of signed & numbered prints. Through its selection, Saywho Gallery wishes to put forward different techniques & approaches that center on the night life (sometimes diurnal too) of different families, determined to becoming immortal thanks to the magic of photography, which, as Patrick Modiano said, «sets a dream forever».

In 1968 Andy Warhol declared in the catalogue for his exhibition at Stockholm’s Moderna Museet : « In the future, everyone will have its 15 minute global fame ». Depicting his generation in order to, he says, ” Remember where he was at a precise moment”, he was an untiring chronicler of life and its encounters. His Polaroid camera followed him wherever he went abd he birthed a great collection of snapshots of his friends, lovers, philanthropists, celebrities, unknown people, performers, people from the fashion industry and of himself. He might now have known that his prediction would happen decades later. A whole generation sees itself as the sole heir to Andy Warhol: they mimic, in a endless night where there are no limits, what made the pop visionary successful: taking photos of oneself and one’s friends, but also offering an argument on the existing artistic codes by advocating for a net permeability between Art & Life whilst being open to the daily life.

The 80’s and the 90’s were immortalized by Nan Goldin, Larry Clark and Wolfgang Tillmans, then a new dimension appears and explores new domains as spread as they are captivating. While the ancients created artistic standards by doing social & journalist photography, the new actors discover new possibilities with a sort of informed amateurism. Instagram is on their key & core medium. Prior to Olivier Zahm, there were Jean Pigozzi and Bobe Colacello. There was Billy Monk and his images of Cape Town’s Club, The Montmartre de Brassaie, Robert Frank or Nobuyoshi Araki’s photo journal. There also was the movie journal of Jonas Mekas and many others. More than a practice, it’s become a real photographic trend that draws its essence within journalistic photography. The subject has simply changed, and the tools have become accessible. Without properly knowing it and by mimicking the same photographic movement, we enter one big and united, beloved and friendly family. The gesture we all share unites and gives us the sensation we all belong, amongst and with everyone. That’s what a selfie is: a landmark, a symbol, and for many an attachment. Nowadays, everyone documents their life and ell their own story with images, so as to mark down, as Emily Dickinson wrote in her preface for Bob Colacella’s book, “the hope, that thing with feathers that perch on the soul”.


Saywho Gallery

01 42 21 48 60

SAYWHO Gallery

Saywho Gallery est la première galerie digitale dédiée à la photographie mondaine et relationnelle. S’intéressant à ce phénomène dès ses débuts jusqu’à l’époque contemporaine en traitant à la fois les pratiques journalistiques et artistiques, elle propose en vente des tirages signés et numérotés par les photographes. Sa programmation cherche à mettre en valeur les différentes pratiques et approches de ce mouvement photographique qui documente la vie nocturne (et parfois diurne) de différentes familles résolues à devenir immortelles grâce à la magie de la photographie qui comme le disait Patrick Modiano «fixe le rêve pour toujours».


En 1968 Andy Warhol déclarait dans le catalogue de son exposition au Moderna Museet de Stockholm «À l’avenir, chacun aura droit à 15 minutes de célébrité mondiale.» Celui qui dressa le portrait de sa génération afin de dit-il « se rappeler ou il était à tel instant précis, était un chroniqueur inlassable de la vie et des rencontres qu’elle offre. Transportant son appareil photo Polaroïd à peu près partout où il allait, il rassembla une immense collection d’instantanés montrant ses amis, ses amants, ses mécènes, des célébrités, des inconnus, des gens de la scène, de la mode et lui-même. Il ne savait peut-être pas alors que sa prédiction allait avoir lieu plusieurs dizaines d’années plus tard. Aujourd’hui toute une génération se voit désormais comme héritière d’Andy Warhol, reproduisant dans une nuit sans fin mais surtout sans frontières ce qui fit jadis le succès du visionnaire pop : se photographier soi et ses proches mais aussi proposer une contestation des codes artistiques établis en prônant un décloisonnement radical entre l’art et la vie tout en s’ouvrant à la banalité du quotidien.

Les années 80 et 90 sont immortalisées par Nan Goldin, Larry Clark ou encore Wolfgang Tillmans, puis une nouvelle scène voit le jour explorant de nouveaux territoires plus diffus et tout aussi fascinants. Là ou les anciens, proche de la photographie sociale et du photo journalisme ont crée un mouvement artistique, les nouveaux acteurs de cette pratique explorent de nouveaux champs d’action invoquant une forme d’amateurisme éclairée. Instagram en est un des terrains de prédilection. Avant Olivier Zahm il y eut Jean Pigozzi et bob colacello il y eut Billy Monk et ses images des clubs de Cape Town, le Montmartre de Brassai, Le journal photographique de Robert Frank ou celui de Nobuyoshi Araki , le journal filmé de Jonas Mekas et beaucoup d’autres. Plus qu’une pratique, il s’agit bien d’un courant photographique hérité du photojournalisme et dont le sujet a muté alors que l’outil s’est démocratisé. En reproduisant par mimetisme le même geste photographique nous formons parfois sans le savoir une grande famille, unie, aimée et amie. Le geste photographique partagé par tous signe un ralliement, le sentiment de faire partie du monde au milieu des autres et avec les autres. Le selfie c’est aussi ça, un repère, un symbole et pour beaucoup un encrage. Aujourd’hui chacun documente sa vie, tout le monde raconte sa propre histoire en images afin de sauvegarder comme le dit si bien Emily dickinson dans sa préface au livre de Bob Colacello : «l’espoir, cette chose avec des plumes qui se perche sur l’âme».

Contact

Saywho Gallery

01 42 21 48 60

contact@saywho.fr